Search / Browse
This book has been added to your wishlist

Circus of Showa Japan 1956 1957 Akira Tanno

Circus of Showa Japan 1956 1957  Akira Tanno

Zen Foto 2015
Softcover 1st edition

£45.00 £28.00 SALE

"At the entrance of the big tent built in a vacant field twenty minutes walk from Keio-Tamagawa Station, there were two or three elephants, within touching distance, delighting visitors with the adorable movement of their trunks. The shows, in which a variety of animals such as elephants, tigers and lions appeared, were no longer called 'kyokuba-dan'. Children sat in the front row, as if they occupied special seats, with no fence between them and the animals. I used to ask the head of the circus for permission to take photographs of the show and they all welcomed me: 'You can shoot from anywhere you want. Don't worry about using the flash.'" 

- Akira Tanno excerpt from Circus of Showa Japan, 1956-1957 

Published by Zen Foto Gallery, Akira Tanno's Circus of Showa Japan, 1956-1957 is the last body of work to have been published during Tanno's lifetime. Having passed away as the publication went to press, Circus of Showa Japan, 1956-1957 presents a singularly unique photographic body of work which re-collects the images Tanno captured five years after his photographic career began, a year before his exhibition within the 1957 photographic exhibition Eyes of Ten and prior to his formation of the photographic collective VIVO. . The images within capture a period in Japan's social history which documents the now no longer seen Japanese 'Circus' which were active during Japan's early post war years since the kyokuba-dan. Illustrated within the 88 pages are the theatrical performances, acrobats, lions leaping through flames, to feats of balance all performed amazements looked on by the wonderment of the crowd in awe and in innocence, a time kept alive through memory and image, viewed in retrospect from today's world that is all but dominated by our mass consumption of media and entertainment. 

Edition of 700 copies.

See more books by: Akira Tanno