Search / Browse
This book has been added to your wishlist

Black Garden (signed) Jason Eskenazi

This book has been added to your basket
Black Garden (signed) Jason Eskenazi

Red Hook Editions 2019
Hardback, 1st edition

£56.00 IN STOCK

RED HOOK EDITIONS announces two new books by Jason Eskenazi: Black Garden & Departure Lounge, completing a trilogy together with his first book Wonderland: A Fairy Tale of the Soviet Monolith. The cycle closes, coming full circle back to the beginning: 314 photos numbered sequentially through all 3 books with 9 chapters.

The Black Garden moves into the mythological world of opposites and duality, and concentrates on three main themes: subjugation of women, domination over the animal kingdom, and self-destruction through war. 154 photographs including 9 panoramics were made from 2001-2017 in Turkey, Greece, Syria, Iraq, Ukraine, Egypt, Libya, and New York. The Departure Lounge‘s 83 photographs were culled from Eskenazi’s archive, dating from 1991 to the present. The images investigate how we depart from reality, from friends, and from ourselves, using the Departure Lounge as the metaphorical room from which we leave.

Signed copy.  Recommended.

Note that due to the design of the book, faint rubbing is possible to the corners/edges of the board cover.

See more books by: Jason Eskenazi